Who We Are

International Dublin Gay Theatre Festival is run by an Executive Committee, all of whom give their services on a full volunteer basis.

The International Dublin Gay Theatre Festival (IDGTF) is a company limited by guarantee (Company registration number 409686).  The people working on this either behind the scenes or in the public face include:


brian_merriman Brian Merriman, Founding Artistic Director.

Brian is one of Ireland’s leading producer/directors, and an accomplished actor, writer and singer in music and theatre at home and abroad. In all he now has over 360 productions to his credit. He has won many awards for directing, acting and singing at International Festivals including for Best Producer, Best Director, Best Show and Best Actor at the Waterford International Festival of Light Opera, The Association of Irish Musical Societies and The Northern Ireland Festival of Light Opera. Amongst other achievements, Brian devised, wrote and directed the biggest millennium night celebration in Ireland – 1000 artists, 15 hours of entertainment, culminating in an audience of 50,000 people on the Quay in Waterford. He has a strong commitment to diversity and equality in the arts and to date has sourced, developed and encouraged thousands of young artists and volunteers. He prioritises meaningful access to the arts by performers, writers, communities and audience.


gareth_hurley Gareth Hurley, Company Secretary.

Gareth has been on the IDGTF executive committee for ten years, serving in a number of roles most recently box office manager and web & communications and has represented the Festival at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe for a number of years. An IT professional he has experience in areas including web, social media, management and administration. He has a long time interest in theatre and the arts. He has previously been involved in a number of other festivals and university societies including the Dublin Fringe Festival as well as a regular attendee of arts festivals in Ireland and abroad.


Robert C Bates & Derek O’Neill, Technical Directors

R.C. has been involved in IDGTF for a number of years and takes over as Technical Director in 2016. He is joined by Derek O’Neill who brings administrative and arts experience.


Steven Masterson, Executive Committee

Steven trained as an actor with Bull Alley Theatre Company, graduating in 2011. Roles included Macduff in Macbeth and Van Helsing in Dracula. Other theatre roles include James in Bound (New Theatre), Dougie in Strippers (Civic Theatre), Edgar in King Lear (Mill Theatre) and A Christmas Carol which toured nationally, playing over 20 venues throughout Ireland. Steven’s first involvement with the IDGTF was in 2013 when he played Leyton in My Second Self, a role that earned him a Best Actor nomination. He returned in 2015 with the Astonished Heart, which was nominated for Best Aspects of Production. He joined the Executive Committee in 2015 and hopes to be able to help bring the festival to the next level and build on all of the hard work that has been put into place over the past twelve years.


Ivan Lynch – Finance, Executive Committee

Ivan joined us in 2015 having previously been a long-time supporter and
audience member of the Festival. He has served on various voluntary committees in the past and has over 20 years’ experience in the world of accountancy and Corporate Finance in Dublin, London and Sydney. A keen theatre-goer he hopes to put his experience to good use on the committee.


andy_mannionAndy Mannion – Volunteer Coordinator & Administration, Executive Committee
Andy Mannion has been volunteering with IDGFT since 2013, first as a front of house volunteer, then as a venue manager and now as an executive committee member. He is currently employed as the Box Office Specialist with the Dublin Theatre Festival. Also they were the Administrator for the Irish Advocacy Network for two years. They have a long history of volunteering for many charities and arts organisations including Fighting Words, St. Patrick’s Festival, JDIFF, IETM, Gaze, Dublin Writers Festival, Croke Park, TENI and Foróige. They are the former Facilitator Co-ordinator with BeLonG To Youth Services and also former student of the Film, Literature and Drama course in Dublin Business School as well has committee member of the DBS Drama and LGBT societies. He is currently in NUI Maynooth studying Community Education. His main goal in life is to actually finish writing a play.



Conor Bio Photo

Conor Molloy Public Relations Director,
Executive Committee

A young professional from Dublin, Conor joined the International Dublin Gay Theatre Festival in 2016 as Public Relations Executive, with the aim to expand upon the festival’s already established presence, particularly among a younger audience. As a former press officer for Labour Youth, he brings his experience co-ordinating and managing numerous large scale events in close association with organizations such as Culture Night, The Arts Council, and ESB. As well as planning & executing the festival with the Executive Committee, he also fields media queries, and co-ordinates publicity opportunities & public engagements throughout the year. As of 2017, he has also taken on the festival’s graphic design work.


We are supported by our eight member Board as well as over 40 volunteers annually.